Enfield-Rifles.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Reloading > Reloading .303 British
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Powder type and projectiles weight

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philtno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Powder type and projectiles weight
    Posted: August 13 2019 at 10:28pm
Hi,
It's been 4 months now that I've started reloading my .303 for my 1943 Longbranch #4Mk1* and I've tried several powders and bullet weights.
What follows is just my understanding of the various results I got with those powders and projectiles. 
I'm new to reloading, new to the LE and just at the beginning of my learning curve, I guess, and would like to have your point on my (very basic) analysis.
I tried H4895, IMR3031 and Varget with Speer 150gn SP (.311), Hornady 174gn RN (.312), Hornady 150gn SP (.312) and S&B 150 SP (.311).
I got some more-than-decent results with some of these combinations at 100m. 
I got very good results with IMR3031 associated with the Speer 150gn (.311) but got poor results with the same powder associated with the heavier 174gn (.312), no matter the loads (tried 5-6 different loadings), while I got average-to-poor results with the H4985 associated with the 174gn, here again, no matter the loads, but very good results with the 150gn (mostly the .312 and to a lesser extent with the .311's).  The results, I managed to reproduce them, so I wouldn't say it was just random findings.

According to you guys, is this just due to the rifle (my Old Boy, I named him Archibald Wink, being just one of many kinds)? or does that make full sense because the lighter bullets generally much accommodate the slightly faster burning powder while heavy bullets much prefer slower burning powder?